Here are the current local repeaters used in emergencies for STX

ICS 205 STX Emergency Repeaters Word Version

ICS 205 STX Emergency Repeaters PDF Version

Here is the HF list

STX ICS 205 HF PDF Version

STX ICS 205 HF Excel Version


Who: All ARRL members 

What: West Gulf Division Election Forum

When: September 28, 2019

Where: Houston TranStar 

             6922 Katy Road

             Houston, TX 77024

Why: To educate the ARRL membership about the candidates for the upcoming election

Time: 2 PM to 4 PM

Mr. Robert Dittman, KB5UJM, has accepted the position of Emergency Coordinator (EC) for Bexar County in District 12 of the South Texas Section. Robert is recommended by the current District 12 Emergency Coordinator (DEC) Ms. L. Ruth Lewis, KE5MHJ. District 12 is composed of Atascosa, Bexar, Comal, Gonzales, Guadalupe, Kendall and Wilson counties.

Robert earned his license as a novice in 1992 at the age of 14. He quickly upgraded to Technician with code, in order to use the local repeaters. Being blind, amateur radio provided a network of making friends, and new opportunities. Radio was a way of staying in touch as he traveled to Texas and the U.S. competing in the sport of wrestling. He became very active in the amateur radio emergency service, international traffic system, as well as SkyWarn.

Sidebar - Robert was able to convince a high school girlfriend who lived in Dallas to achieve her license she became KC5GNI and they must have the record of passing messages between each other from 1993 to 1996. Over the years, amateur radio has enjoyed the center stage and a place of honor in his life. Amateur Radio allowed him to become a communications officer in the Civil Air Patrol, United States Air Force military auxiliary radio system member, telecommunications specialist in the United States Coast Guard Auxiliary to name a few. These experiences will serve him well in his new EC position.

Robert is a life member of the ARRL and a member of the ARRL volunteer council program. Robert has again brought his love to amateur radio as his fiancé achieved her license on June 21, 2019. Her callsign is KI5FHC.

This appointment is effective on July 23, 2019.

Mr. Thomas Andrew Downing, WB5TAD has accepted the position of Emergency Coordinator (EC) for the Harris County Southeast Unit in District 14 of the South Texas Section. Andrew is recommended by the current long-time EC Mr. George Fletcher, AD5CQ.

An audiologist with the Houston Methodist hospital system he has been a part of the ham radio arena for about six years. He is active in several public service events in and around Houston. Additionally, Andrew is currently a member of the Pasadena EmComm group. He is working closely with George to have a smooth transition. George has served as EC for Harris County for 10 years.

District 14 is composed of Harris County. Mr. David Underwood, WB5HJV, is the District 14 Emergency Coordinator (DEC) and approves this appointment.

This appointment is effective on August 9, 2019.

WinLink Global Radio Email

If you are a US-licensed station that routinely connects to a foreign gateway, or a non-US-licensed station that connects with a US gateway, you may be affected by new CMS behavior. The Winlink CMS now will enforce US Third-Party Message rules.

Because Winlink is being severely criticized for allowing US client and gateway operators to violate US amateur radio third-party traffic rules, we are today starting to test automatic enforcement of these rules. Part 97.3(47), 97.115 and 97.117 apply.

Get the App.  eNIFOG Webpage graphicOn your mobile device, search for “eNIFOG” on Apple’s App Store or Google Play to download the app.

The National Interoperable Field Operations Guide (NIFOG) is now available as the eNIFOG mobile app on Apple® iOS™ and Google® Android™ devices. The NIFOG is a technical reference for emergency communications planning and for technicians responsible for radios that will be used in disaster response. It includes rules and regulations for use of nationwide and other interoperability channels, tables of frequencies and standard channel names, and other reference material.

More info



Mr. Victor Gunnoe, AF5OS has accepted the position of STX District 13 Emergency Coordinator (DEC), Victor was recommended by former D13 Webb County EC and STX SEC Mr. Frank Aguilar N5SSH. Victor replaces Mr. John Letney AL5J who moved to the east side of Texas. District 13 is composed of Dimmit, Duval, Frio, LaSalle, Maverick, McMullen, Webb, and Zavala counties. This appointment is effective September 6, 2018.

Red Cross LogoFrom our Red Cross Liaison, distribute as you see fit.ARES Logo

Usual jobs with Red Cross and ARES are assisting with Communications at Red Cross HQ, EOC Contact, Shelters, and Disaster Assessment.


Starting up:

  1. Get a briefing from the Red Cross Manager/COML
  2. Establish ARES and Red Cross Liaisons to manage traffic
  3. Agree on the fastest way to exchange messages – paper, thumb drive, keep messages short, etc.
  4. Find out where you should set up
  5. Inform the Liaison of your capabilities, voice, data, who you can contact
  6. Confirm with Red Cross Your Tactical Call Sign & Cell number
  7.  Make sure you are in contact with the correct county EOC
  8. Check in with Red Cross HQ
  9. Conduct all actions safely and protect confidential information
  10. Start your logs

Mr. Sid Tschirhart, WD5H has accepted the position of Emergency Coordinator (EC) for Medina County in District 6 of the South Texas Section. Sid was recommended by our longtime D6 District Emergency coordinator (DEC) Mr. Ernest Reich W5FQA. Sid replaces Mr. Walter Hock, KK5LO after many years of public service. Mr. Hock will remain very active in amateur radio. District 6 is composed of Bandera, Edwards, Kerr, Kinney, Medina, Real, Uvalde, Val Verde counties. This appointment is effective December 1, 2018.

Welcome Sid.   

Mr. Eric Schmidt, KA5WMY, has accepted the position of Emergency Coordinator (EC) for Brazoria County in District 1 of the South Texas Section. Eric was recommended by several of the local public service event and infrastructure leaders. Eric replaces Mr. Terry “Sarge” Bowersmith, W5SRG. Sarge was the EC for Brazoria for as long as I can remember. District 1 is composed of Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Ft. Bend, Galveston, Liberty, Montgomery and Waller counties. This appointment is effective October 14, 2018.